Open mic tonight

I’m the guest host at the Tuesday open mic tonight at AJ’s Music Cafe in Ferndale, filling in as best I can for jjfmi. The music starts around 8 (or a little after) and sign up starts around 6. I’ll play first, then play M.C. and sound guy.

I got the courage up to plug a microphone into my computer and try recording something last night in ProTools. The software is pretty cool and was fairly easy to operate. And I think I like the new microphone, an AudioTechnica AT2020 that even looks like something that you’d see in a studio. It only took about 40 minutes to get a very basic mix of a vocal and guitar on a song. This could be kinda fun, actually.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Open mic tonight

  1. jjfmi says:

    I’m interested to see/hear a demo of the new gear. What song did you record, if you don’t mind my asking?

    Hope tonight went well and without undue drama…. 🙂

    • jjfmi says:

      And thanks again for filling in tonight! 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      I recorded about 2/3rds of Sean Fitzgerald’s “Worlds Collide”, not because I want to put it on a CD but because it was the only song that came to me at the moment. (Yes, I have “Monterey Moments” at home too.) The rendition was kind of rough but the recording seemed pretty clean.

      Open mic was relatively drama-free. Only had nine performers, so it ended a little early. There was a lot of spoken word compared to usual, and it was all good and well-received. The gear was all un-setup, though, and that was a pain, especially the electronic keyboard which needed to be set up for the very first performer, of course. :p

Leave a Reply

