Lazing on a sunny afternoon

bitterlawngnome made me do it. (Kind of.)
IMG_3135ab
I think this is what the kids call GPOY.

In actual news, I’ve finally installed ProTools on my computer, which means the number of obstacles to me actually recording music is dwindling significantly. Of course, I have to figure out how ProTools works, and I can milk that for procrastination value for a while. I mean, I can learn as I go.

Before I start that learning-and-going, though, I am going to go outside for a while. It’s 75 degrees and sunny here. If summer was like this, I’d want it all year round.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lazing on a sunny afternoon

  1. just don’t try to follow my makeup regimen, it won’t suit you.

    • songdogmi says:

      I know. I’d have to get my colors done first before I knew what to put on.

      • definitely a summer. jewel tones!

      • songdogmi says:

        Oh dear. Not only do I not have the right makeup, this probably means none of my wardrobe works. I hope my co-workers understand if I show up tomorrow wearing a barrel.

        (Will youngsters understand the barrel reference, or is everything from the mid 20th century going to be lost?)

      • hmm Diogenes or Yosemite Sam?

      • songdogmi says:

        I’d forgotten about Diogenes; only remembered him with the lamp.

        Barrels don’t work so well when one sits most of the day.

      • I’m sort of amazed that ca 3000 years of “classical” culture and even recent history is more or less gone from consciousness, except inasmuch as it’s re-envisioned by pop culture. That worries me more than the loss of George Jetson or the Brady Bunch. For instance how is it even possible that the USA, founded as a militantly secular state, has been represented as a “Christian Nation” and people are actually buying into that?

      • songdogmi says:

        I’m trying not to just throw out a facile “Cuz kids are dumb and their parents are dumb and teachers can’t teach.” I do think classical culture and history are being skipped over in schools. There are an awful lot of people who think the only things worth learning are those that’ll directly get you a job. That even applies to college these days.

        I have a hypothesis that goes something like this: Up till the last half-century or so, the creators of works such as books were all highly educated people — they were the only ones with the access to the means of publishing. Nowadays that’s not true; almost anyone can produce works (books, films, stuff on the Internet) because the means to do so have become relatively inexpensive. So it’s not limited to just the well-educated anymore. If you’re not trained in anything classical, you’re not going to put that in your work, and therefore “consumers” will not be exposed to anything classical. And that’s how it all fades away. That whole idea could just be me talking into my hat there, but maybe….

        That would possibly explain why many Americans don’t seem to remember anything about the philosophy behind the founding of the country; it’s awful erudite, and meanwhile there’s always been a strain of simplistic thought that makes Christian demagoguery thrive. It’s always loud and it’s always persuasive to a significant number of people, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

