Having a wonderful time, wish you were here

Went walking with the Ott Lake Rambler down the north side of the Dead River (a.k.a. Lake Whoa-Be-Gone, soon to be restored) up to ROTC Rock. We climbed it in 1980 and then rock-jumped down the face of it, which looks like the rock behind me in this photo only a lot taller. This time we just walked around it and hiked back to the car through the woods that I used to run through when I was a junior and senior, back when running was what I did. In the early 1980s the area was technically closed but it has been turned into a series of hiking and ski trails open to the public.

The trip has been great so far. Blissfest was about ten times better this year than last year. John Hiatt on Saturday night blew us all away, and there were many other fine performances, but I became a total fanboy for Kris Demeanor and His Crack Band — saw saw three of his shows, in fact. I played an open mic for the first time in several years, too. The icing on the cake was that there was no rain on Monday, so we were able to pack everything up while dry. The only downside was it was too hot all weekend, but remember I like it cold so you probably would’ve liked the weather a lot.

Next up: the Hiawatha Music Festival. By the end of the weekend I’ll be all festivaled out, I’m sure, but I’ll be smiling.

Edited to add: I put more photos from the ROTC Rock trip on my Flickr on July 23.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

