Michigan Notable Books

I’ve just discovered the Michigan Notable Books website. The program has been around for about 15 years, but I only now really noticed it thanks to a bookmark that had been left near a coffee station at work. According to the website, “The Michigan Notable Books program annually selects 20 of the most notable books published in the year. The selections are reflective of Michigan’s diverse ethnic, historical, literary, and cultural experience.” The 2010 selections were announced earlier this year and include biographies of the namesakes of the city of Houghton and one of the Soo Locks, Mitch Albom’s latest, a photo-and-text retrospective of the long career of Bob Seger, a look at America’s first school bombing (in Bath, in 1927), and several other works of fiction and nonfiction. Most of them look very interesting to me. I’ll have to check out the winners from past years soon.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

