Remember when I used to write here every day or almost? Ah, those were good times… I’m seeing a lot of LJ posts that go something like that these days, so maybe it’s not just me. Well, in my case, maybe it is.

Anyway… I have just learned that of the Seven Wonders of the U.P. (that’s Upper Peninsula of Michigan), I’ve only seen four of them—Tahquamenon Falls, Brockway Mountain, Lake of the Clouds, and Pictured Rocks. Maybe the days between Blissfest and the Hiawatha music festival will be devoted to seeing the other three, Bond Falls, Agate Falls, and Kitch-Iti-Kipi. (You can see photos of the seven at the link above.)

Funny thing is, I always thought staring out across Lake Superior was one of the wonders, along with the Manitou Paymen Highbanks northwest of St. Ignace. I may have to make my own list with photos.

Finally, this:

“Golden Girls” aimed to show “that when people mature, they add layers,” she told The New York Times in 1985. “They don’t turn into other creatures. The truth is we all still have our child, our adolescent, and your young woman living in us.”‘Golden Girl’ Rue McClanahan dies (Yahoo/AP, 3 June 2010)

Y’know, I think she’s right. I’m old enough now that this really strikes me. (Only I think I’ve a young man living inside me. Y’know.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. I thought that the 7 Wonders thing was a great idea.

    I’ve personally been to all of them, but I haven’t been to Tac Falls, Kitch-iti-kipi or Lake of the Clouds since I was a kid. I’ve made a “Summer Resolution” to go to those three this summer.

    So, you are coming to Hiawatha? I’ve never been myself, but now that I’m learning guitar, I’m more interested in that type of music, so I might go. Do you know if they have either formal or informal opportunities for people who are learning to play?

    Also – I’d like to meet you. So, let’s try and meetup at least for lunch or something when you come up.

    • songdogmi says:

      I am 99 44/100% sure I’ll be at Hiawatha (the only complication might be things with my mom; she still needs lots of doctor visits, but I think things can be arranged). Which reminds me I should order my ticket this weekend….

      They don’t have a lot of formal learning opportunities, usually. The last couple of years they’ve had a “slow jam” where people get together to play old tunes at about half the speed they usually get played at, so everyone can get used to them. The tunes tend to be in the “old timey” tradition, mostly fiddle tunes (it’s a fiddler’s world, we only live in it ;-). Usually there are a couple of songwriter workshops too but those vary and sometimes are just concerts-in-the-round (still fun, in its way).

      As for informal, there’s a lot of music out in the camping areas by the attendees when they’re not at the stage area, jam sessions and song circles and the like. These might be at all skill levels though probably relatively few for beginners.

      I’d like to meet you too! My plan so far is to go to Marquette pretty much right from Bliss, so I’ll have most of the week up there.

  2. changeling72 says:

    Blimey. It’s been one after another. Rest well, Rue.

  3. ferndalealex says:

    “I may have to grow up, but I don’t have to grow old.” Don’t know where that comes from…but it’s true. It would be nice to see another show like that on the air today, something that is funny and deals with topical issues. Maybe there is, but it doesn’t dome across my TV.

    There’s so many Social Media outlets how can someone keep up with them all? I can ’cause there’s nothing like a job sucking up my free time.

    • songdogmi says:

      TV is such a wasteland for comedy these days, especially the broadcast networks. It’s been years since I cared enough about any comedy show on CBS, ABC, NBC, or Fox enough to watch it regularly. I must admit I have a pretty bad attitude about it these days.

Leave a Reply

