Yesterday, I remembered that it was about this time last year that I had a back attack similar to what I’m experiencing now. Maybe it was more in June. And it was a lot worse, because it lasted for weeks. In fact, it didn’t completely go away until the mid-July music festival trip, which in a way is amazing because for most of that trip I was sleeping on the ground. Well, on an air mattress on the ground. Still, it was pretty challenging for the orthopedically unsound, except it worked fine.

I hope it doesn’t take me seven more weeks to recover from this back attack. But I will admit to looking forward to the festivals, especially Blissfest. It’s their 30th anniversary festival and they’ve got a very fine lineup. The highlights for me are John Hiatt, Richie Havens, Patty Larkin, Claudia Schmidt, and Kris Demeanor and His Crack Band. (The latter was at Bliss in 2004 and was the hit of the festival.) Also appearing is a bluegrass/old timey band from the west side of the state named the Rhythm Billies. I’ve yet to see them all on stage, but I have jammed with their fiddle player, who’s outstanding and one of the Ott Lake Rambler‘s inspirations.

Then there’s Hiawatha, speaking of the Rambler, and their lineup is a little less stunning than Bliss’s but it’s not a milestone anniversary—it’s number 32 for Hiawatha*. They’re hosting Bryan Bowers, the autoharpist extraordinaire, along with the Hot Club of Cowtown and Claudia Schmidt (hey, that name’s familiar). Finally, at both festivals there’ll be friends to hang out with and jam with, as well as new music to discover. What could be wrong with that?

So, now we know how I’m getting myself through the current back attack, which actually seems to be lessening. I mowed grass tonight, so progress must be happening.

* It kills me that I could’ve gone when I was in college, and didn’t. But it was held pretty far away from Marquette for someone without a car in the early days.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. changeling72 says:

    Sounds like you’ll be having a blast!

    • songdogmi says:

      I hope so. I wasn’t too thrilled with Blissfest last year, but I’m going to assume that they saved their 2009 resources for 2010’s festival because of the milestone. Besides, just about any time spent in northern Michigan is good.

Leave a Reply

