Not one of my better weeks

Let’s see… I had a show about exactly one week ago that went very very well. But what I didn’t say when I mentioned it here was that I was in day 5 of a cold, which left me somewhere between Leonard Cohen and Tom Waits as far as vocal quality. There were a few songs suddenly finding themselves two keys lower than usual. Somehow, by the end of the evening, I was reaching my usual vocal range, even in the harmonies on a couple of jjfmi‘s songs. (I don’t think I broke them too badly… I hope….)

After that was the blood test adventure with Mother, outlined in my last post. And then Sunday, my back went out. I believe coughing is what caused that, as the cold had progressed to the throat and chest stage by then. Well, coughing and stress. Like a fool, I actually did some yard work, because who else was going to do it, and that only sealed my fate as far as the back goes.

Mom’s angiogram on Monday did not go terribly quickly or, in the end, as predicted. The one consolation is that she got a nice room to spend the night in at the hospital. (The overnight stay was more or less expected.) She left on Tuesday and stayed with my sister for a few days. That left me to just go to work, hobbling and coughing and generally making my co-workers drive me crazy with their expressions of sympathy. (I hate sympathy. I wasn’t there for the sympathy; I just need to save days off for when I need them, like vacations and music festivals. Also, there was birthday cake at work on Tuesday.)

So now it’s another Friday night (well, it was when I started writing this) and I had to spend most of it lying down because of the back. That isn’t anywhere near as much fun as playing a concert. But I think things are getting better. Fingers are crossed.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

