Rambling in the rain

We’re getting a good soaking in metro Detroit today. Not only has the rain been consistently moderate-to-heavy since about 7 a.m. (so 10 hours now), but it’s windy and about 20 degrees colder than normal. In other words, it’s a lot more like late March than mid-May.

I’m home because Mom needed to be taken to another doctor today. Apparently we’re starting a new round of Adventures! In! Medicine! with at least three additional appointments in her future and, thus, mine. Thing is, she feels fine, or at least as fine as she’s felt since she got home from the hospital in Jnauary. But there are tests that are saying things may not be fine. Fortunately, it’s likely to be something that has a standard treatment protocol and a good prognosis. So we’re trying to be only appropriately worried, but still… meh, as the kids say.

Michigan’s legislature passed a law banning smoking in many public places, including notably restaurants and bars, as of May 1, 2010. I’m getting awfully tired of hearing people complain about it, by which I mean bitch, moan, and whine because what they say goes far beyond reasoned discussion. I’m encountering this on Facebook, mostly, and maybe I should be saying this there. I haven’t been saying anything because, no matter how angry and upset they get, they still can’t smoke in a bar or restaurant, which means I and other nonsmokers have won. I don’t want to gloat. But I don’t want to keep hearing how put-upon smokers are. Just because they’ve given their personal power to an addiction fostered by corporations who couldn’t be bothered by anyone’s health and well-being until forced to by state attorneys general, doesn’t mean I should continue to suffer. I hate being unable to savor my food, I hate having to deal with smoke-soaked clothing, and I hate breathing smoke instead of oxygen. I don’t want to become an anti-smoking Nazi, but there’s long been an issue of fairness that is only now being redressed. And now, I just want the complaining to stop, because it’s not the end of the world, as you’d know if you looked at what happened in other states or cities that enacted smoking bans and saw the restaurants and bars still do OK financially.

Hm, I have a show coming up. I should plug that, maybe in the next post.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rambling in the rain

  1. changeling72 says:

    Non-smoky atmospheres are heavenly. As is not stinking of smoke after a night out. The law’s been in force here for some time now.

    • songdogmi says:

      See, I thought the point was to eat or drink or dance or listen to music, not to smoke. Silly me, huh?

      They passed this same sort of ban in metro Louisville, Kentucky about a year or two ago. Many of the cigarette manufacturers were headquartered there once, so if it can be done there….

  2. animist says:

    I’m all in favor of people being able to indulge in any vice they wish to, as long as I don’t have to suffer from it. So on the one hand, I’m a champion of people’s right to smoke and certainly am opposed to any attempt to abolish it. But on the other, I am more so a champion of people’s right to NOT smoke, something for much of my life scoffed at as a non-right by smokers displacing fresh air with second hand smoke in rooms. In fact, I take ninety dollars worth of medicine a month thanks to the cumulative effects of second hand smoke. Which leaves me feeling rather indifferent when smokers complain about yet another tax hike on their poison of choice.

    • songdogmi says:

      I think it’s that scoffing and non-consideration that actually angers me the most.

      The phrase “Your freedom ends where my nose begins” keeps going through my head, because it’s clearly demonstrable that the result of their “freedom” wafts right up my nose and into my sinuses and lungs (and yours).

Leave a Reply

