Photo date for May 2

The creators of the Lens blog on the New York Times’ website is promoting a Moment in May, when photographers all around the world take a photo at one time to create “a marvelous global mosaic; a Web-built image of one moment in time across the world.” That moment is this coming Sunday, May 2, at 1500 UTC (or, for us Eastern North Americans, 11:00 a.m.).

The initial announcement was posted on April 8 as A Timely Global Mosaic, Created by All of Us, with a follow-up Q&A in the April 20th post Photographers Prepare for a Moment in May. This is open to all—amateurs, professionals, students, and I would guess people who “just happen to have a camera” should not feel left out. Cameraphone pics are apparently cool, though they’re asking for sufficient pixel size for display on the web.

This is awfully appealing to me. I’m planning to take a photo and submit it, assuming I’ve done a good job of it. Here’s hoping a lot of others do the same. So if you hear a very loud “CLICK” at 1500 UTC on Sunday, or maybe a “gahZEEEEEE” (that’s supposed to be a motor drive on a film camera… yes I’m outdated), you’ll know what’s happening.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

