More fun with lighthouses

After a few hours in front of the computer reading stuff while it was sunny and warming up outside, I pulled myself away, grabbed my camera, and went to Belle Isle. The main point was to get a new photo of the William Livingstone Light at the east end of Belle Isle in the Detroit River, which I did. It is unusual in that it’s constructed out of marble. These days, it also seems to be obscured from ships by the tall trees between it and the river, but maybe the light shines through.
Livingstone Light

I also met a very friendly German shepherd dog who excitedly bopped me in the face with his nose (what a sweetie!), and saw what may well have been a golden eagle fly by while I didn’t have my binoculars. (D’oh!)

Yesterday’s lighthouse trip led me to remember a lighthouse from the 1998 trip up north that I thought I photographed pretty well but had yet to scan in and post. The print I had was very blocky in the shadows, and I didn’t think I could get any detail out of them, but it turns out I’ve been learning some things and the scan turned out pretty well. This one is Seul Choix Point lighthouse near Gulliver, in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.
Seul Choix Pointe Lighthouse

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to More fun with lighthouses

  1. altivo says:

    Great photos. Would you object to having one of them used as a reference image for a painting?

    • songdogmi says:

      I’d have no objections in the slightest. Thank you. 🙂

      • altivo says:

        I like both of these, but I’ll look through your Flickr account to see what else you might have that would make a nice subject. If I actually use one, I’ll give you the original art work if you want it. I’m looking for practice subjects, and lighthouses are always fun. Have you ever photographed the lights at Copper Harbor or Eagle Harbor?

      • hellmutt says:

        I once used one of Songdog’s lighthouse pics from deviantArt as ref for a CD cover for him (digitally painted). It was more fun than I’d expected.

      • altivo says:

        Lighthouses are generally fun as well as picturesque. Most of them in the Great Lakes area here seem to have been decommissioned as the ships switched over to satellite and radio navigation, but a lot of the retired buildings are either occupied by private owners or have been preserved as historic sites with museums etc. The two I mentioned are small ones on the Keeweenaw Penninsula in Lake Superior. I’ve visited both years ago and found them historically and architecturally appealing. Another fine and very tall one is found at Sturgeon Bay on Lake Huron. That one is now a museum and historical site.

      • songdogmi says:

        Mutt did, and it was very very cool. 🙂

        Lighthouses are sometimes very picturesque. I’m somewhat disappointed in the ones that are basically on metal scaffolds, but they count. (They can’t ALL be the Ludington Pierhead light covered in ice in the winter.)

        I haven’t seen the Keweenaw lights, though. I’ve only made one trip all the way up there, and that was before I was “into” lighthouses.

        But then, there is a lighthouse in Detroit I haven’t seen yet, and I even lived a mile or so from it as a child. (I may have seen it back then, but it doesn’t register because “back then” is long ago.) There are a lot of lighthouses. I think I need a leave of absence from work to go look at them all. Think my boss will go for it?

      • altivo says:

        Maybe you should submit a query to write and photograph a coffee table book on Michigan lighthouses, with historic essays on each. I’ve seen one on the more significant Great Lakes lights, but I don’t know of a comprehensive one covering Michigan. Writing a book, with an advance contract, should be sufficient to get a leave from a publishing job, no?

        Thanks for the links to that website. I hadn’t seen it before, nor had I seen the Windmill Point lighthouse. I have seen the one at Ludington. In fact, I remember wanting to walk out the long pier to look at it more closely and my parents denied the request. ;p

        One of my favorite lighthouses is right here in the Chicago area: the Grosse Point Light in Evanston. I also definitely recommend the one at Sturgeon Point just north of Harrisville, MI.

        I’ve seen the one on Menagerie Island south of Malone Bay up at Isle Royale, but only through binoculars. The lights at Keeweenaw are unusual and mostly small but well worth visiting. Of course, everything in the Keeweenaw is special. Factory ruins. Historic sites. Dead copper mines. Virgin white pines. Cemeteries that date back to the 18th century and before. Garbage dumps full of bears. (Not recommended for visitors in VW bugs, but I was young and foolish then. Fortunately the bears didn’t have a can opener handy.)

  2. hellmutt says:

    Puppy! ❤ And nice lighthouses. The glowy sunlight on the bottom one makes the pic look very warm and sharp.

    • songdogmi says:

      Yeah, it was such a beautiful day (as U.P. days often are) and the light was perfect.
      It might make a good postcard, although I’m sure they already have postcards to sell from the museum shop at the lighthouse.

      I can do postcard photos pretty well. Creative experimental art photos, um, that’s a different story. When I try, they often come out looking like postcards. *shrug*

Leave a Reply

