Dashing through the snow

The trip home yesterday was about half a notch above uneventful. On I-65 between the north edge of metro Louisville and the south edge of metro Indianapolis, about 90 miles, there were something like twenty vehicles off the road in the deep snow and culverts on either side of the highway or in the median. This included a large truck on its side well down the embankment on the right. I think all of these vehicles came to grief on Monday, and only some of them were being retrieved on Tuesday. So my one-day delay looked even more justifiable.

That’s not to say the conditions were all that great, because for most of the trip down I-70 over to I-75, and then up I-75 to Toledo, I drove through pretty constant snow showers. Must have been lake effect snow from Lake Erie, maybe. I think we’ve established that when it comes to driving in snow, I like it in a manner most would call insanity, so I wasn’t very put out and it didn’t slow me down too much. The main thing is, I got home with plenty of time for sleep—that’s the important thing.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

