Another CD store at the crossroads

Early on Wednesday, Dave sent me a link to a news article that was very troubling: Owner of ear X-tacy voices concern for future of store. Ear X-tacy is probably the best CD store I know of today, located on Bardstown Road in Louisville, Kentucky. On Friday they’re having a press conference to announce … things. Times are hard, and their lease is up for renewal in March. The worst is feared.

You’d think that Detroit would have sufficient music stores that the troubles of a store 375 miles away would be of little importance to me. The truth is that Detroit lost all its really good music stores years ago — Sam’s Jams, Harmony House, Schoolkids Records. They all succumbed to the same issues that are troubling all independent music and book stores: big-box discount stores like WalMart, music via the Internet, and the shift away from consuming music in collections like CDs or LPs. Not enough people go to specialized shops any more, apparently. In Detroit, we have used CD shops, and we have WalMart and Meijer and Target. Nothing at all like ear X-tacy. That’s why I’ve gone in there twice a year for the last half-decade at least, dropping on average $40–50.

I guess it won’t be long till we know what happens to ear X-tacy. Dave reminds me they’ve moved a couple of times in their 25-year history. Maybe the fat lady hasn’t been hired to sing yet. One can hope.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

