Status check-in

I’m in Louisville with my mom—well, more specifically I’m in Indiana with Dave and Mom is in Louisville with one of my cousins and her husband, but soon I’ll be over there too (just waiting for a phone call and directions). The drive down was easy enough, because we managed to skirt the huge storm system with all the rain until the very end, although we had a strong headwind for most of the trip. It was 80 degrees in Cincinnati and 81 in Louisville yesterday, temperatures I don’t think will be seen again in Detroit till at least May.

The bad news today is, one of my other cousins here is sick with a fever today, so she won’t be able to go to dinner tonight. Since we came to her house last night, it’s not hard to wonder whether she was sick enough to be a carrier last night, churlish as that thought might be. I’m going to try to not worry about that, because worrying will only spoil things at this point.

Besides, I’m doing enough worrying already, trying to figure out how to keep three cousins, one spouse of a cousin, a mother, and a partner happy, as if they’re not capable of keeping themselves happy. When I step back, I’m kind of amazed that (1) I’m as whacked out as I am, and (2) that I’m even mentioning it in LJ. Well, maybe I don’t have a lot else to write about, so that explains point 2.

… OK, got the call telling me where to go. So everything will be cool and fun tonight. Yes. Now all I have to do is not run over any trick-or-treaters on the way there. That could be awkward.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

