Change

I was at AJ’s Cafe in Ferndale watching the open mic (for I had not called in, and the sign-up list filled up, but they need audience too), when I noticed I had missed a call on my cell phone. It had been Trish from Trixie’s Coffee, inviting me there for what was probably their last open mic night. So I apologized to jjfmi and headed across town, where I stayed and eventually played. Emotionally I was pretty much flat until I got halfway through my second song, but it wasn’t the song that got me shaky as much as trying to decide what I would play next. I came close to playing the Beatles’ “In My Life,” since that’s the last song I played at Gotham City Cafe’s second and (so far) last farewell show. But that would’ve been really hard to get through. Luckily someone requested a song of mine that’s really sad but not to me (somehow), so I did that.

I’ll feel bad about Trixie’s closing. And it’s worth pointing out that they’re still hoping something can be arranged, extension on the bills or a benefactor or eventual reopening down the road. But for now it looks like their last day open will be Sunday, and that’ll be sad. But I have to admit I’m possibly projecting my still slightly festering feelings over the demise of Gotham nine years ago. It’s not that I’d wish they’d open Gotham again, because it wouldn’t be the same, anyway, after all this time. But I do miss the life and times of Gotham, especially the mid- to late-1990s.

I will miss the people, though. Gotta find a way to stay in touch. Some of them, I will run into at other musical venues, I’m sure.

Anyway, in the department of very small silver linings, it does simplify my decision making as to which open mic to go to on Tuesday nights, since Trixie’s and AJ’s both held open mic on the same night. (Only once have I ever played both of them. It’s hard to do on a weeknight.) That’s more than outweighed by losing a regular performing venue; most of my shows in the last few years have been at Trixie’s.

Change … bah humbug.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Change

  1. ladymam says:

    Wow, I hadn’t realized that Trixie’s was closing.

Leave a Reply

