Random notes leading into a weekend

First of all, Panera Bread has the best tuna salad sandwich I know of. Nice chunks of tuna and just a little bit of tangyness. Put it on their honey wheat bread with some lettuce, and ahhhh…. I had it for lunch and now I want another one for dinner.

Dave is here for the weekend and we’re going to the Detroit Symphony Orchestra on Saturday. The program includes Rodrigo’s Fantasía para un Gentilhombre, with guitar performed by Sharon Isbin, and Rachmaninoff’s second symphony (not really known as the Eric Carmen Symphony), plus a world premiere work the details of which I’ve forgotten. This oughta be fun.

Leo Kottke’s album One Guitar, No Vocals strikes me as being like 6- and 12-String Guitar (his first album) with much maturity and experience. I’m still amazed at what he can do with a 12-string. I used to own 12-string guitars, but my fingers would get tangled in the strings if I tried explosive finger-picking like Kottke. Goofy iTunes (or maybe it’s Gracenote’s CDDB) says it’s “country,” which is exhibit number million and five why stuffing things in genres isn’t always a good thing.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Random notes leading into a weekend

  1. altivo says:

    Kottke ain’t country. Probably that was cddb, they get everything wrong, mostly because they don’t have good categories to begin with. Add in the fact that the categorization is often done by the public and well…

    It was acoustic guitar music, isn’t that “country”? No.

    I always loved playing the 12 string. No problem with fingerpicking here, but keeping the callus built up on my left hand was always an issue. Still have the instrument, haven’t touched it in a while.

    • songdogmi says:

      Kottke is … Kottke. I suppose you could create a genre by including him with the likes of John Fahey and Michael Hedges. But none of them would be “country.”

      I like 12-strings. Would be nice to have one, even if all I did was bang away strumming chords. I’ve tried them at music stores over the years, but haven’t found one I liked enough to put the hole in my bank account yet.

      • altivo says:

        Mine’s a cheapie by anyone’s standards, a Yamaha I paid less than $200 for 35 years ago. The action is shallow enough that I can handle it, though, which was a major criterion. I never play steel strings otherwise, I’ve always used a nylon strung classical style instrument.

  2. rambear says:

    My best wishes for a great weekend ahead!

Leave a Reply

