He’s got a guitar! RUN!

I’m playing music (or so I like to call it) at Trixie’s Coffee in Roseville tomorrow night, as in Friday, Sept. 11 by way of disambiguation. The fun starts around 9 p.m. with something like an open mic, featuring Mike Anton, Maggie Ferguson, and Mike Dorn, which between you and me will probably be the best part of the night. Then I will change my name to Monterey Charlie just for the alliteration and play for a while. There may be songs about critters, and roads, and possibly a lighthouse.

I’m not really mentioning a cover charge, but there’ll be a donation bowl if you have money you no longer need. There will also be CDs available for purchase from some if not all of the performers. (No, there won’t be any remastered Beatles CDs for sale.)

Trixie’s is conveniently located (for, admittedly, a local sense of “conveniently”) at 25925 Gratiot, about a half-mile south of I-696 on the southbound side in Roseville.

(I don’t know why I wrote this up when I was in a goofy mood, but there ya go.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to He’s got a guitar! RUN!

  1. hellmutt says:

    sdfdsfgdsfdsafd LIGHTHOUSE? 😀

    • songdogmi says:

      Maybe. I’ve been slack on rehearsing this week (like, what week am I not…) so I might not be able to. But I’d like to.

      • hellmutt says:

        You’d be able to hear the squeeing from here. That may or may not be a good thing. Does this place webcast, or record or anything?

      • songdogmi says:

        They don’t do webcasting themselves, but from watching how it was done at the late lamented Coffee Beanery, I could possibly work it out via UStream.tv and my work computer (a MacBook Pro with the little built in webcam), except for the pesky bit about playing a show at the same time. I’m actually thinking about it, which is either insane or brilliant, I’m not sure which.

        And sadly, I’m just not set up for mobile recording (or really, much of any recording, anymore). I’ve an intense lack of equipment for it.

      • hellmutt says:

        I’ll go to bed soon and get up when it’s almost time and see. Or if anyone there has a camera or anything, tell ’em your Brit mates say YouTube it. 😉

  2. jjfmi says:

    Despite the lack of Beatles remasters, and barring some respiratory relapse, I plan to attend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

