Just one of those things

On Sunday I was behind a pickup truck that had one of those “Buy American” bumper stickers — I think this one said “Still not out of work? Keep buying foreign!” or something like that. The interesting thing is the truck was at least twenty years old, maybe closer to thirty. It was from one of the American Big 3, but I couldn’t tell which one because the nameplate was gone from the back after years of wear and tear. OK, maybe the driver also has a 2009 Ford Focus in his driveway; I kind of doubt it, but stranger things happen. Just from what I could tell on the road that day, he hadn’t bought American any more recently than any Honda or Toyota driver.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just one of those things

  1. ferndalealex says:

    Petting my peeve again…

    I’ve seen them GM vehicles that I know to be assembled in Mexico (with components being increasingly sourced to low cost countries). And many / most “Japanese” cars are assembled here. With my last employer, automotive glass, Toyota was a major customer. So that leaves the question: What constitutes “American Made?”

    But a quick soundbite is better communication than the longer logical thought.

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: Petting my peeve again…

      I too was pretty annoyed when all the buy American rhetoric started over again, for the same reasons: Don’t all the Japanese makers have factory operations here? I could buy a Mazda and keep people in Flat Rock employed, couldn’t I?

      I think all the rhetoric just showed how local political leaders, and those who follow blindly, just weren’t ready for the 21st century, really.

Leave a Reply

