Ladies and gentlemen, start your engines

It’s Woodward Dream Cruise weekend for the fifteenth time, and Dave is here to drag me out and go see it with me. Due to the recent well-documented problems in the auto industry, there are fewer corporate-sponsored events this year, so in a way the cruise is getting back to its roots. People have been out with their classic cars all week, already, so tonight and tomorrow will be car-azy.

It’s also the 100th anniversary of the paving of Woodward Avenue — or at least, the first mile of asphalt pavement, which was the first such pavement anywhere. We saw a news report on the festivities, which took place just north of Highland Park. Sadly, it was an underattended event, but there were Model T’s and the like, at least.

Just because I can, here are my LJ posts from last year and the year before, and 2006 … ok, so I’m a regular fan.

The downside this year is, the high temperatures are predicted to be around 90 degrees all weekend, with humidity building, and lots of sunshine. Of all the times for our cold summer to ease, it had to be this weekend, huh?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ladies and gentlemen, start your engines

  1. We’re thinking about taking Lily up to see the Beatles tribute band tomorrow night but we’re not sure yet. I don’t think I’ve been to the Dream Cruise in about 5 years at least.

  2. ferndalealex says:

    This is the first I’d heard about the centennial anniversary of Woodward. Was it the first use of asphalt or the first paved street?

    • songdogmi says:

      I should’ve remembered this better. This is from the website of the Woodward Avenue Action Association:

      At the onset of the automobile industry in the early 1900s, the roadway was asphalt paved over wooden blocks in downtown Detroit. Northern portions remained covered with gravel or planked. The majority of the road was dirt, which became rutted with mud during the spring. In 1909, responding to demand for smoother roads by bicyclists and early auto owners, the first mile of concrete highway in the world was laid by Wayne County between Six and Seven Mile Roads in Greenfield Township (present-day Northwest Detroit).—Woodward’s History

  3. animist says:

    Hope you guys have a great time, and be sure to post those pics!

Leave a Reply

