How I Spent My Summer Vacation, Interlude; or, KABOOM!

While I was gone up north, part of my neighborhood blew up.

I live about a mile and a quarter from the 9 Mile Road bridge over Interstate 75 in Hazel Park. On Wednesday, July 15, around 8:30 p.m., it is said that a car lost control and caused a tanker and semi to crash. The tanker then exploded (several times, actually), which caused the bridge above and the pavement below to melt. Smoke could be seen up to 15 miles away. The fire burned for hours, well into the next day. There were no fatalities and the tanker driver suffered only minor bumps and bruises.

My nephew and his family live about a half-mile from the site. Their electricity was out until 3 a.m. Thursday, as power lines that run across the bridge were also destroyed. They also experienced wind-blown smoke and gasoline fumes.

I was 450 miles away in Marquette at the Ott Lake Rambler’s house, and was checking out Facebook while he dealt with a disaster of smaller proportions (a non-functioning fluorescent light in the kitchen) before we went to Hiawatha. Many of my friends on Facebook reported on it. See, Facebook IS a good thing.

My mom reported on Monday that I-75 had been very speedily repaved and was open again. (I avoided the interchange on my way home from up north, just to be safe, so I didn’t know the status.) It will take a lot longer to rebuild that bridge, which had just been renovated last year.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How I Spent My Summer Vacation, Interlude; or, KABOOM!

  1. jjfmi says:

    Charlie leaves town, with bridges burning behind him…. there’s a song in there somewhere!

    • songdogmi says:

      There’s a whole tradition of shipwreck songs and mining disaster songs… let’s start a tradition of freeway-overpass-destroyed-by-explosion songs!

Leave a Reply

