Rewriting the history books

The Christian right is making a fresh push to force religion onto the school curriculum in Texas with the state’s education board about to consider recommendations that children be taught that there would be no United States if it had not been for God. —Christian right aims to change history lessons in Texas schools (The Guardian, 22 July 2009)

My understanding is, there’s a United States because of religious zealots, not because of God or any other supernatural being. I don’t know why I think this, maybe it’s just because I have a college degree in American History….. See, I’m actually a lot more exercised over this than over creationism and intelligent design at the moment, partly because of my own training. (Probably because creationism has been an issue longer, too, but I’m not really jaded, I hope.)

The Texas Board of Education, a group largely comprising conservatives due to Texas’s long history of electing them to office, will now look at the proposed changes to the curriculum, and a lengthy political battle may ensue. If one thinks that even they couldn’t go along with this, it’s instructive to look at the compromises they came up with (mentioned in the article) that require science teachers to downplay the theory of evolution by injecting some mentions of “intellligent design.” And the theocracy that a few want makes yet another step’s advance.

Also, there’s a quote in the article from one of the leaders of the effort, who says something to the effect that “children should be taught that Christianity is the key to ‘American exceptionalism’.” So this isn’t just a Christian Right effort but a Dominionist effort (is there actually a difference? Maybe not). I’m just as skeptical about America being a “special” nation as I am over the existence of supreme beings, and what’s happened in the last decade is adequate proof that skepticism is correct, if not outright rejection.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

