How I spent my summer vacation, part 1

I returned Monday evening from Marquette, and have had difficulty finding time to write anything. This is not going to be a narrative, just some random thoughts.

  • Camped at Blissfest July 10–13 with jjfmi, Ted, Marilyn, Marilyn’s sister Dorothy, and Jennifer. A smaller group than usual, fun anyway.
  • Saw Loudon Wainwright III on the main stage on Friday night. Dead Skunk in the Middle of the Road, stinkin’ to high heaven! Way cool.
  • At our singalong late on Friday night, I sang Dougie Maclean‘s “Ready For the Storm”. We could see lightning miles away over Lake Michigan. About 45 minutes later, the storm came through Blissfest. My tent leaked a little but was otherwise ready.
  • Saturday dawned sunny and breezy, and it stayed breezy for the next two days, as is usual for Blissfest since it’s set on top of a ridge not far from Lake Michigan. Record low temperatures may have been set sometime over the weekend. Unlike last year, no tents were destroyed by the wind.
  • I got my festival t-shirt, because the logo was so cool. I didn’t buy much else except food. But I did buy about ten Tom’s Mom’s Cookies. Mmmmmmm. Don’t worry, I spread them out over the next week; I guess that helped.
  • Kathy Mattea played the main stage on Saturday night, many of her hits plus maybe half the songs from her recent album, Coal, a collection of West Virginia coal mining songs. “Eighteen Wheels and a Dozen Roses” is still an awesome tune.
  • On Sunday, most of our party departed for home, leaving me and Jennifer to hold down our corner of the field till Monday. We talked a lot and saw some of the main stage acts.
  • Saw Seth Bernard and May Erlewine close the festival on the main stage. They kind of grew up with the festival and have played it as children and teenagers; now they’re in their 20s. I admit, I’ve been wondering what the mystique is. They’re good, but they have a cult status that I don’t exactly get. Maybe I’m just old.
  • Packed up everything on Monday and headed north. Had breakfast at the Pancake Chef in Mackinaw City, as is my tradition. The food was good. Too many families with small children who shrieked, though, and one particular family behind me (whose kids didn’t seem that ill-behaved, actually, but there was a lot more going on, apparently) turned it into a Lovecraftian horror. I needed a half hour staring at the Mackinac Bridge in Alexander Henry Park to recover. (OK, I would’ve done that anyway. It’s awful pretty.)
  • Then it was across The Bridge and into da U.P.

More later…..

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

