Haikuday

Shortly after I succumbed to the phenomenon that is Twitter, I was introduced to #haikuday.* Dave from the Clay Adams Band started it—the general idea is to write and post haiku on Tuesdays. Early on, it was sometimes called “haikusday,” which in a way rhymes with Tuesday, but it has been standardized to “haikuday.”

The few of us who’ve been doing it aren’t very rigorous with the theory and practice of haiku. It’s just fun to put a Twitter kind of thought into seventeen syllables (as if 140 character wasn’t enough of a limit). I’ve been trying to keep the nature angle in my contributions, but I can’t claim to have that little leap in the last line that marks a fine haiku. It’s not like we spend all week composing, at least I don’t. It’s kind of a spur of the moment thing. But there’s no wrong way to do it, really; if one wanted to compose a really good one, that’s perfectly fine.

One week, Dave tried to get #haikuday into the “trending topics”, that list of hot subjects on the right side of the Twitter web interface. He posted something like a dozen haiku in a half-hour, and there were a couple others, but that wasn’t enough. It’s hard to break through on days when Iran and Jon & Kate are in the Twitter hive mind, I guess.

Anyway, that’s one way I’ve found Twitter to be fun, and a way to make it a little more interesting than “I had cereal for breakfast” kinds of Tweets.**

* Put a # in front of a word, and it becomes a “hash key”. It’s not an official feature supported by the Twitter overlords, but it’s frequently used to classify by topic.
** Clearly, if you’re going to mention your breakfast cereal on Twitter, you should be eating Shredded Tweet.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Haikuday

  1. ogam says:

    > if you’re going to mention your breakfast cereal on Twitter, you should be eating Shredded Tweet.

    *proceeds to pull out de Nerf baseball bat and give you a BONK on de head!*

  2. hellmutt says:

    I like your haiks.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Following the tenor of American politics has made me feel slightly better about the fact that ours, while increasingly snippy, hypocritical and petty due to the election being a couple of weeks away, seemingly limits its larger-than-life drama to things like the PM having accidentally called somebody or other unpatriotic and this somehow being Unspeakably Horrific And Won’t Somebody Think of The Children?

    Which is a bit silly because we’re in the middle of a leak investigation, a political corruption case, and an overall campaign funding reform because of said corruption case, and yet most of our politicians are unbelievably prim and polite about it all.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Thank you, sir… I’m staying. I just re-upped for another year of paid membership (which I just learned will be 54 weeks, thanks to LJ extending memberships even though it wasn’t their fault). I guess I’m just wondering about a day when there’s no LJ to stay at. If I haven’t established a beachhead somewhere eise, will anyone be able to track me down?

    July was completely lost for me in medical facilities. But this whole year has been flying by faster than last year, and I thought 2010 was a Formula 1 car.

Leave a Reply

