Too much ugly noise

Thirty-six hours, now, of listening to right-wing Republicans talk trash about Judge Sonia Sotomayor, and I’ve come to the conclusion that those folks — Karl Rove, Newt Gingrich, Rush Limbaugh, Dick Cheney, Mitch McConnell et al. — all need to Just. Shut. Up. They’re embarrassing America with their facile schoolboy insults. They’re contributing nothing useful to the debate. They’re stupid because they say these things without realizing that they’re being hypocritical to a laughable degree. And they are roadblocks to government because they absolutely refuse to even look like they want to work together with the Democrats in Congress.

I take my hat off to John McCain, who had the only reasonable-sounding quote I found yesterday among Republicans in reaction to Sotomayor’s nomination. Now, maybe it’s the media’s fault, and they should be trying to find moderate Republicans to get quotes from. I know they’re out there. Somewhere. But please, can we make the loudmouth bullies be quiet for once?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

