Spasmodically yours

I haven’t had much to say lately, because most of what I would say would be liberally punctuated with “ow” and “ouch.” The ol’ back has decided to go Out wherever it decides to go periodically, and has left a tangled wreck of musculature around my spine in its place. It has done this once every one to three years since about 1985, and it has always gotten better before so I expect it to the same soon this time, too. I did go to the doctor yesterday, and got a prescription for a muscle relaxant—unfortunately, the instructions say to only take it before bedtime, which is usually when the back is loosest, but I am having faith for now. Progress is being made; it’s just always too slow when my back is concerned.

I spent the weekend either in bed or on the couch. I never thought that could get boring, but boring it got, even with the TV on. So I went out Saturday night to see Tracy Kash Thomas at Trixie’s, because I figured I could sit home and be miserable or I could go out and sit and be miserable and have a coffee and listen to good music, and maybe become less miserable. It was a good choice; Tracy is talented and smooth, and she and her drummer are cool folks too.

OK, back, you have this week to get better. I don’t want any of this pain around for the holiday weekend. Got it?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spasmodically yours

  1. hellmutt says:

    Get thee behind me, spine!

    Hope it feels better. Anti-inflammatories can help.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks 🙂 Working at home today helps, too. Getting into and out of a car is murder, so I’ve probably done a lot of good by not driving to work today.

Leave a Reply

