Master of my domain no more

If for some reason anyone has a link to charliemonterey.com, expecting it to go to my music site, please replace it with http://www.geocities.com/woodenmusic or, if you prefer, http://www.myspace.com/charliemonterey at your earliest convenience.

Way back when, I related some problems with my domain not resolving. Well, I never followed through on that. In January, I came up with the brilliant (read: short-sighted) idea that I’ll just let the domain name expire, then repurchase it. This should basically reset all my domain name and e-mail problems — the spam magnet that my domain’s e-mail address had become was the first huge problem I had. Anyway, so I did… and the renewal period came and went … and last night, when I did a check to see if charliemonterey.com was available, I came to find out it was not.

It had been acquired by a company that collects domain names and tries to resell them. I mean, I guess that’s what they do. What would anyone else want with charliemonterey.com? I’m sure they would want more for it than the original registrar wanted to just renew it, too. At the moment, charliemonterey.com goes to one of those fake search engine pages. Grrrrr.

So, this turned out to be a really stupid move on my part. All I needed to do was make a phone call or two, when the guy from the domain registrar actually wrote me and said “I’d be glad to help!”, and get things fixed, and … no I had to get really good at my avoidant behavior. Feh.

(He did, y’know. Found that LJ post where I talked about it, and got in touch with me! And I threw it all away. *sob*)

Which led to this e-mail exchange with Dave:
C: I’m still a doofus for the domain problem, though.
D: Well … negligent. Which means you have to wear a negligée.

Anyway… now I have to figure out what to do next. Which means trying to figure out what it makes sense to do. It’s not like I ever had a huge number of people looking for me on the web, y’know? And I still have MySpace…. ok, that oughta be motivation to keep a real website, eh? I mean, along with the motivation of possibly having to wear a negligée.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Master of my domain no more

  1. altivo says:

    My advice: find another domain name you can live with, and acquire it. Get a web site out there pronto, and start chasing links so it pushes the old one out of the search engines. Never buy a domain back from squatters. They are the ultimate slime.

    For instance, a perfunctory check shows that anotherroadmusic dot com or otherroadsmusic dot com are presently available. You could also consider some suffix other than “com” as there are an awful lot of them available: org, net, biz, and all the country specific ones. Tuvalu has made a fortune selling its domain names (.tv) to broadcasters and producers.

    • songdogmi says:

      I’m considering another domain. Don’t want to pay any money to a squatter. It would probably be out of my budget, anyway.

      I think the .net version of my old domain is still available. I hadn’t thought of your suggestions, but they’re good ones.

      The big problem I have is in trying to decide what is worth doing at this point. I’m not playing that much, and my songwriting is pretty much stalled. Maybe keeping things basic is more worthwhile? But I was just reminded of how lame MySpace really is. So … I dunno. I know what the possible answers are; I just need to pick one.

      • altivo says:

        Getting the domain and keeping it alive with a simple web page that lists your recordings and tells where you will be appearing is simple and inexpensive. I think you should do it for continuity’s sake if nothing else. You can probably get a free web site through your provider or from someone like Google Sites. You can also generate an e-mail account with your domain by using Google features. Total cost is just the cost of the domain registration, and those can be had from various places for as little as $5 to $10 per year. I’ll tell you something: I’ve never looked at anyone’s myspace or facebook stuff because I was interested in their artistic or literary output. I *have* however looked at real web pages and blogs, and sites like Furaffinity and Deviantart. So there. ;D

  2. altivo says:

    Oh, and if you decide to wear the negligée instead, we’re all gonna demand photos you know.

  3. jjfmi says:

    Thanks for the reminder.. I need to re-register my own name…

    Thanks for coming out tonight, by the way! It was fantastic to sing with you and Leslie again. 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      Re-register early! My registrar gave me lots of reminders, but not all of them do that.

      You’re welcome… thank you for letting me sing with you. It was a fun night.

Leave a Reply

