Today’s road trip brought to you by….

Yep, going to Louisville today (approximately). I used to go nuts with digging out CDs to play on the way, but I’m cutting back. Here’s today’s selection:

  • R.E.M., Lifes Rich Pageant
  • Blue Rodeo, Five Days in July
  • W.A. Mozart: Piano Concertos # 21, 7, 10 (Jon Kimura Parker, Ian Parker, and James Parker, piano; CBC Radio Orchestra, cond. by Mario Bernardi)
  • Foo Fighters, Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace
  • Dave Carter and Tracy Grammer, Seven Is the Number {for the last 60 miles)

… I’ll probably listen to a lot of radio, though, which is why I don’t take a lot of CDs anymore. Well, that and there’s a good chance I’ll end up at Ear-X-Tacy and find some new ones to bring home.

I won’t really be gone from here, because I’ll have a laptop. So it’s almost not like saying goodbye.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s road trip brought to you by….

  1. jjfmi says:

    Only FIVE CDs…?!? :-O

    That is one of the nice things about an iPod or other mp3 player- even the ones with a smaller capacity will easily hold a road trip’s worth of music, and then some. I’m not giving up on CDs, mind you.. I just like having lots of music to choose from. (Enough to make my own private “radio station”, if the local stations are lacking.)

    Safe travels, though… 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      Actually, six… on the way out the door I grabbed the “new” John Gorka CD, ‘cuz I hadn’t listened to it yet. (Awesome, of course.)

      As for an iPod, I’m sure it’s fun once you’ve ripped all the music, but before then that seems like a huuuuge project… and I have fewer CDs than you. 🙂

      Thanks. I’m done driving for now, which is good.

Leave a Reply

