Another Musical Weekend

On Saturday night, Trixie’s hosted three local songwriters singing their own songs as well as songs by other local songwriters. Most of the time, people cover songs of the famous songwriters; covering fellow locals is an idea that’s long overdue. Hugo Cruz organized it and shared the stage with Lisa Hurt and Jeff Jablonski. Right at the beginning, Hugo played his song “Build Your Heaven Here,” which is one of my favorites of his, and then he segued it into my “Hawks.” He did it so well, with some of his trademark vocal embellishments that gave it added dimensions. It’s a weird experience, anyway, to hear one of your songs covered, and this time I was awestruck. The rest of the night was highly entertaining too. Hugo will repeat the show at Trixie’s on June 13 with a different cast of songwriters, and I’m sure I’ll be there.

Sunday night, one of my songwriting heroes, John Gorka, played at Callahan’s in Auburn Hills, and I met up with my friends Jim and Cheryl Perkins of Finvarra’s Wren. I’ve been a fan of Mr Gorka for over 15 years and I play a few of his songs. It’s way better to hear him do them, though. He’s such a goof with his stage banter; I’m amazed he can keep it up for a whole show (I can only do that for short bursts), but he is a professional after all. It was a fine show, with most of my favorites, and I was able to fill a hole in my CD collection by buying his first album, I Know.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Musical Weekend

  1. I’ve only seen John Gorka once (he played in Lowell with Cheryl Wheeler and a couple of others). I really liked him. IIRC, he sang a song that referenced Stan Rogers, which of course sold me immediately. 😀

    • songdogmi says:

      I think it’s called “That’s How Legends Are Made”… yeah, that’s a good song. He didn’t play it Sunday, but he did play “I’m From New Jersey” (I’m from New Jersey/I don’t expect too much/If the world ended today/I would adjust). I’ve seen him two or three times now, all great shows.

Leave a Reply

