Tea time

I don’t know about you, but I’m using my tea bag … so I can have a cup of tea. (Bigelow decaf green tea, to be exact.)

I’m probably diluting what little impact my previous post has by posting this, but hey.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tea time

  1. Tea is always a good thing!

  2. rambear says:

    What a great photo!

  3. tastyeagle says:

    Capital idea. I think I’ll enjoy a teabag of my own some time tonight. I’ll even take a photo of the results.

  4. hellmutt says:

    I think I’m missing some innuendo here. šŸ™‚ What’s this about teabags in the media?

    • songdogmi says:

      Over 240 years ago there was a terribly noble, er, terribly seditious “tea party,” where rebellious colonists dumped freshly-imported tea in the Boston Harbor because they disagreed with your king-at-the-time’s tax policies. It’s worth noting, of course, that back in the 1700s tea did not come in cute little baggies with strings and a tag. (Perhaps in England, where the art of tea is well practiced, it still doesn’t.)

      All well and good. Suddenly, this year, certain persons have realized that our taxes are too high, even though they haven’t changed in a few years. (Perhaps the problem is that we’re not getting tax rebate checks this year, which the previous president sent the last two years, even though the government was already running a huge deficit.) Apparently this happened when they suddenly were paying taxes to a government led by a Democrat instead of a Republican. So the brilliant idea was concocted to gather all these tea bags and … I guess send them to President Obama or somewhere, as a protest. The big day was April 15, our personal income tax filing deadline.

      Somehow it got referred to as “teabagging,” which made it a double entendre of the sort that might make people giggle madly and others blush fiercely. The Republicans, of course, didn’t seem to get that angle, and even signed onto the concept with the website teaparty.gop.com. This lead to the whole movement being mocked mercilessly by the moderate-left talking heads like Rachel Maddow and Keith Olbermann on MS:NBC.

      Current day populists aren’t as bold or as well-organized as those hardy souls in Boston so long ago. It was reported in the Huffington Post and elsewhere that the protest in Washington, D.C. was ended by the police because the protesters did not get the appropriate permits (and all they would’ve had to do was ask for it, no money required).

      As for my tea post, your fellow citizen gave me the idea.

      • hellmutt says:

        Ah, thanks for the context (hilariously worded too).

        I never expected GOP supporters to be so open about their teabagging, somehow… šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

