The Up North News: Wolves and music and high heels

Because most of the local news is just too frustrating, here are a few headlines from the Mining Journal in Marquette, Michigan.

Isle Royale wolves face more woes (April 5, 2009): “HOUGHTON (AP) – The gray wolves of Isle Royale National Park are suffering from backbone malformations caused by genetic inbreeding, posing yet another challenge to their prospects for long-term survival, wildlife biologists said Thursday.” They’re stuck on an island, see, and even though there are probably more wolves just a few miles away (as the wolf runs), there’s all that water that doesn’t freeze up as much anymore. A debate is on over whether humans should do something to intervene.

Avant garde soundscape to be performed (posted April 3, 2009): The Marquette Symphony Orchestra commissioned a work by a local composer, Ashley Rose Fure, who is currently studying in Paris and will come back to get her Ph.D. at Harvard soon. Granted, it’s not Sir Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic, but it’s a great start and who knows where she goes from there? I wonder if my local contact can tell me what he thought of the concert, since he knows someone who’s in the orchestra.

Walkin’ for a cause (posted April 7, 2009): “MARQUETTE – Male students and community members walked around Northern Michigan University’s campus in high heels on Monday as part of the ‘Walk a Mile in Her Shoes’ event. The goal of the event, aside from raising money for the Marquette Women’s Center, was to raise awareness about sexual assault. April is National Sexual Assault Awareness Month.” Geez, some days I have problems with my harness boots… but I’m all for this sort of thing.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Up North News: Wolves and music and high heels

  1. ferndalealex says:

    Interesting stuff. I didn’t know there were any symphonic types in Marquette.

    • songdogmi says:

      I’m guessing the symphony draws its members from around the central Upper Peninsula; it also includes members from high school, college, and the community. Northern Mich. University has a decent music program (geared toward teacher education, mostly).

  2. jjfmi says:

    The latter does, indeed, sound like a great cause. But I now have Bob Rivers’ “Walking Round In Women’s Underwear” going through my head now, for some reason. 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      Eek. Take that earworm back, NOW!

      On a more serious note, when I read that article, I thought of your song “Except a Man,” and how that would probably be a welcome addition to the program.

Leave a Reply

