Wild Things

I wanted to post something earlier, but I didn’t have anything to say that was more worthwhile than “It’s my birthday, look at meeee!” Having said that, it’s been touching, and humbling, to receive all the happy birthday wishes here and on Facebook. I don’t deserve them, really, I mean, I never remember YOUR birthdays, now, do I? I don’t even promise I’ll try to. So now you know the dark side of me. (Or one of the dark sides.)

It’s been a very nice birthday, with some very nice gifts, and approximately twice as many birthday cakes as I really should be allowed, not that I’m complaining.

OK, here is something I’ll give you, though I think it’s been zooming around the Internet speedily on its own already. There’s a trailer for the film adaptation of Where the Wild Things Are, which was apparently released on … my birthday! See, it really is all about me, isn’t it? Ahem, I mean … yes, there’s a trailer. If you go to the website for the movie (linked above), it’ll redirect you to Apple’s web site where the trailer actually is. Where the Wild Things Are was probably my most favorite book as a child, so I’m all full of SQUEEE. They just better do it right, but the trailer looks good so far.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wild Things

  1. vaneramos says:

    I never remember either, but happy birthday, belatedly. Thanks for the link to that preview. One of my earliest book memories is of having that read at story hour at the public library before I started kindergarten.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thank you, Van. 🙂
      I have many fond memories of the book, not so much the part about being sent to bed without supper, but the rest of it, having a wild rumpus with the monsters in the woods.

Leave a Reply

