Sign: No performers in the audience, please

Oh No, Performers Coming Into Audience [note: Text only, no video]

Yes. Exactly. Stay on your side of the wall! This is why I have never gone to see Cats.*

Don’t heckle me, and I won’t come into the audience and sing directly to you. Or make you sing along.

I know The Onion was just being funny, but it actually resonated with me quite a bit.
____________

* Well, that, and Dave would disown me.
Found in cargoweasel‘s journal; apologies to eselgeist for the redundancy in his friends’ list.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sign: No performers in the audience, please

  1. jjfmi says:

    Actually, the only time I ever worry about a performer coming into the audience is if it’s a comic. (And I pray it’s not someone I’d been heckling…)

  2. hellmutt says:

    I quite agree.

    But I like Cats — other than the parts where they mess with Eliot’s nifty catterel without good reason. I think that in the version/s we saw, the performers stayed where they were supposed to.

    • songdogmi says:

      It’s why I like CDs and DVDs. They’re nice and well-behaved and stay over there where they belong.

      I used to think Cats might be nifty, but then it became one of the theatrical productions that got done to death here (like Phantom of the Opera and, um, the one that “Send In the Clowns” is in (brain isn’t awake yet)), and I hate jumping on bandwagons.

Leave a Reply

