25 Random Things and a pretty pikcher

Going around Facebook is a quiz asking for 25 random things about members. It took me almost two weeks from the first time I was tagged to come up with my list. The trick is to come up with things that are not dull (“I once brushed my teeth at 7 a.m.”) but not too self-revealing (“My social security number is nnn-nn-nnnn”). So since I did a lot of work on it, I’m going to post it here too. At work we call that “repurposing data.”

Rules:
Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you. Except, I’m not tagging anyone. You may, however, tag yourself, and I’ll read it with great interest.

(To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.)

1. My college majors were, in order, accounting, mass communications, and history. History stuck.

2. I actually got college credit in snowshoeing and bowling.

3. I wrote my first song in 1978. No, I will not play it for you.

4. I ran regularly from January of 1982 through around 1990 (usually 3 miles, five days a week when I was serious). Astute observers will note that this includes three winters of running in Marquette, along the shores of Lake Superior. (Astute observers will also note that I am clearly not running anymore.)

5. My rule was, no outdoor running if the air temperature was -20 degrees or colder. But -18 degrees was OK if there was no wind. Running in shorts was ok at +40, maybe a little cooler if the sun was out. I was slow, but hardcore.

6. Viewing microfilm can make me seasick if I try to scan or read it while the film is moving. I’m actually guessing, as I’ve never been seasick on water.

7. I had a summer job in Medora, North Dakota in 1982, running a slide show on the history of the town (among other things). As a result, I probably know more about Theodore Roosevelt than most. He owned a ranch there in the mid-1880s. Bully!

8. When I was 9 or 10, I went with Dad one Saturday to where he worked, a box factory. I thought it was cool, and I said I wanted to work there when I grew up. He said “Oh, I hope not.” We were both saying what we were supposed to, I think.

9. I eventually did work with Dad at a different box factory for two summers during my high school years.

10. The farthest I’ve been from home is El Paso, Texas. Well, maybe Las Cruces, New Mexico, but that’s very close to El Paso.

11. I’m not Irish. I can’t be Irish. I don’t know “Danny Boy.” (http://www.robbieoconnell.com/songbook/youre_not_Irish.html)

12. I’ve seen the aurora borealis about five times in my life, or in other words, nowhere near often enough.

13. The first LP I purchased myself was the Carpenters’ third album; the first used LP was the original soundtrack to the movie The King and I; and the first LP I got as a gift was Colors of the Day: The Best of Judy Collins. All these were acquired around age 10 or 11.

14. The preceding item may lead one to assume that my music collection does not presently include Nine Inch Nails, Thelonius Monk, Steve Reich, and every R.E.M. CD. One would assume incorrectly.

15. I’ve sprained both ankles twice, once severely and once mildly. But I’ve had no worse injuries. Knock on wood. Well, there have been back injuries… but they probably rank with the severe ankle sprains as far as severity.

16. I’ve sported a beard since May 1979, except for very brief periods where for maybe a week or two I shaved my face. I was even bearded for my high school senior portrait.

17. Two of the eight places I’ve lived have been torn down, both abandoned by the people who lived there after my family did. I’d spent 11 years in one and 12 years in the other.

18. My last barber visit was in 1991, but I shaved my head in October 1997 and kept it mostly that way for the next six months.

19. I’ve swum in Lake Superior in November—but it was an unusually warm day, and we went in a shallow part of the lake near the shore. The water was still cold. Come to think of it, it’s not all that warm in July, either.

20. I’ve worn glasses since I was about 3 1/2 years old.

21. I’ve never watched an entire episode of Friends or Seinfeld. Or Will and Grace, come to think of it.

22. I’ve never seen bears in the Upper Peninsula, even after something like 35 trips and actually living there.

23. I’ve never been to Frankenmuth or the Detroit Auto Show. Michiganders will be either awestruck or disappointed in me.

24. Given my choice, I’d rather be cold than hot. You can always put more clothes on, but you can only take so much off and even then, it’s still hot.

25. Getting gray hair (and a gray beard) doesn’t bother me in the least. Good thing, huh?

If that doesn’t float your boat, check out bitterlawngnome‘s photo of Mt. Rainier… and this one too… they’re, um, like, wow.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 25 Random Things and a pretty pikcher

  1. hellmutt says:

    12. I’ve seen the aurora borealis about five times in my life

    Five times! You lucky sod! 🙂 I still want to see it.

    • songdogmi says:

      I’ve never seen the truly magnificent displays with different colours and shimmery-ness, just the basic greenish and slightly curtain-like kind. Still was cool. I hope you get to see it sometime.

  2. ferndalealex says:

    That’s impressive as I couldn’t come up with 5 things…much less 25.

    I’d rather be cold than hot. You can always put more clothes on, but you can only take so much off and even then, it’s still hot.

    I keep telling people about this!

    • songdogmi says:

      Yeah. YEAH!
      Now, I have to admit that I’ve never had either heatstroke or frostbite. So maybe I would change my mind if I’d ever had frostbite. On the other hand, I do know enought to avoid it….

      It was kinda hard to come up with 25 without getting too mundane or too self-revealing.

  3. ogam says:

    10. The farthest I’ve been from home is El Paso, Texas. Well, maybe Las Cruces, New Mexico, but that’s very close to El Paso.

    And was the occasion for great rejoicing out in the West Texas town of El Paso, too!

    *long, warm huggle*

Leave a Reply

