A change could do you good, so says the song….

You’d think on a planet with three suns, we’d get to see one of them once in a while. But this is Detroit, and we spend most of the winter just wishing for a little orange ball in the sky or three while people on the south coast of Georgia have all the sun they want. Seattle used to have this huge P.R. campaign to say that they’re not as cloudy as people think, but they gave up here on that long ago. The greyness is almost our badge of honor. But since this is one of those times of the year where all three suns are mostly south of us, the greyness has been pretty dark, and it hasn’t even been worth me changing back to human form most days. Just easier that way when I go hunting at night.

Now, I never was the type to just indiscriminately pick off hockey moms or junior accountants caught in the city late at night when they shouldn’t be. I like to think I’m a ethical lycanthrope, though Dave tends to laugh sarcastically when I say that — but he’s a cactus, so he would. Still, I have to say that the constant diet of lowlife junkies I’ve been on lately is getting old. See, everyone in “polite society” heads south when these sunless periods come, and it only leaves the ones who can’t go. And I have to tell you, chewing some kid who was stoked up on H… well, they taste funny, and the high only lasts me about five minutes due to my metabolism. Then I have to sleep for hours. Oh, wait, that’s normal with me, anyway.

I dunno. I figured that after the galaxies collided, things would be different. Sure there was a chance Earth would be destroyed, but instead ol’ Sol managed to capture a couple of minor yellow stars in its gravity, and we were fine. Except for how that accelerated global warming. (Funny, the Nobel Committee looks like geniuses now, since they gave Bush that Peace Prize while President Gore refused to sign the Kyoto Accord early in his term.) So yeah, things would be different. I was just hoping for good-different.

Maybe I need to get out of town for a while. Go up north and hang out in the woods. The cold’s no problem, obviously. Maybe a diet of rabbits would be a nice change. It’s a little more challenging, what with their speed and their ability to disappear down rabbit holes.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A change could do you good, so says the song….

  1. shadowbear_ says:

    Pssst! Songdog, you’re daydreaming out loud again. šŸ™‚

  2. ferndalealex says:

    Smilin’

    ethical lycanthrope is the best phrase I’ve heard since Jay Leno said the other day that he doesn’t really cuss, but likes to call people “Syphilitic druids.”

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: Smilin’

      “Syphilitic druids”… oooh that sounds just plain nasty.

      What did he call the impeached governor of Illinois last night… “Bla-sonofabitch.” Jay’s gettin’ edgy in his old age. šŸ™‚

      • ferndalealex says:

        Re: Bla-Who?

        It was on INSIDE THE ACTOR’S STUDIO and I think it was him saying that cursing is so overdone no one really notices it anymore.

        He seems to have a bug about that Governor, I’ve heard that was his name for him.

      • songdogmi says:

        Re: Bla-Who?

        He’s right about cursing. The “dirty words” hardly mean anything anymore. A good insult is an example of a fine art.

  3. hellmutt says:

    This was awesome. I missed the existence of Rabbit Hole Day, so I’d no idea what was going on for about half a paragraph. XD

Leave a Reply

