Bumper cars on ice!

I’ve seen more car wrecks in the last eighteen hours than I have in the preceding eighteen months—two of them as they happened, two just after they happened. It’s so cold here, see, that salt on the roads doesn’t work, which is kind of academic because they’re not salting roads anywhere near as much as they did last year. And … well, I’ll say the snow has exceeded the ability to plow the roads, so they’re not completely clear, which makes them icy after a while.

They apparently do have sand to put on the roads (doesn’t melt anything, but gives traction… that’s used up north all the time, but rarely here), because I heard on a traffic report that a sand truck was stuck on a freeway northwest of town.

One accident I saw this morning in my rearview mirror was an SUV that came off a ramp at a too-high rate of speed, went spinning across all five lanes of traffic and finally smashed sideways into the left retaining wall. I hope the driver is all right… and gets relentlessly mocked for stupid driving.

It’s all very deceiving because it’s sunny and cloudless this morning. But it was still all of +5°F and nothing was melting. Last night’s low at my house was −2, which got an earworm started, my friend Leslie’s parody of Van Morrison’s “Tupelo Honey”: “It’s cold outside, it’s two below, honey.”

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bumper cars on ice!

  1. hellmutt says:

    Eeeeew. Keep safe, Char.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks 🙂 This is one time when I really miss having viable mass transit. I keep wishing they would tear out the inside lanes of the highway I drive and put in a rail line, which would be so convenient. Will never happen, though.

      I’m staying at the office till about 7 p.m. Not only do I have enough to do until then, but it should clear out all the rush-hour traffic. The fewer the cars, the fewer the accidents. At least that’s my theory.

Leave a Reply

