In the unlikely (but slightly less unlikely) event….

Perhaps you’ve heard of the latest shockwave to hit LiveJournal. (See the official press release or this posting for background.) It has brought up some thoughts as to what one might do in the long run. I don’t believe LJ is about to disappear. But I’ve wondered in the past, what would happen if for some reason I wanted to keep blogging but LJ was not viable. I have assumptions, but I thought that some feedback would be nice to have. So… here’s a poll!

The main pluses that I’ve always seen to LJ is the user interface, which I’ve always liked, and the community of people who are also part of LJ—friends from real life as well as interesting people writing here. The interface has been duplicated already at sites like InsaneJournal and DeadJournal. To date, the community hasn’t; LJ is still the biggest and best (for me) in that regard.

Again, I’m not panicking; I’m not moving my LJ or quitting. I will be backing it up sometime soon (late at night when the rush is over), but that’s only prudent with any data. I’m just making sure I have options.

(Hmm. I should’ve made the buttons in the poll radio buttons not check boxes. Please choose only one. Well, two if you like Fleet Foxes.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In the unlikely (but slightly less unlikely) event….

  1. I do a lot more blogging on blogger myself. I enjoy the communities on LJ though, I would miss that.

  2. altivo says:

    Blogger works for just plain blogging, and it’s easy to link/RSS/whatever to follow. Unfortunately, it has nowhere near the convenient user interface of LJ, nor the flexibilities in notification. InsaneJournal is LJ, uses the same software and interface, and seems to be running well. If LJ folds, I’ll probably be there, as I already have an account under the same name.

    I don’t think, though, that LJ will fold up. The problem is that “managers” always expect huge profits from things they don’t understand, and technology on the web has already proven repeatedly that it isn’t really that profitable. Even the few stunning commercial successes, such as Amazon and EBay, have had to pull in their claims and tighten their belts after a while. Like running a railroad, a web-based product like LJ can be profitable but the margin will be modest. MBA types want higher returns, and will jockey around and shuffle bits until they either kill their market or give up and sell the product off yet again to someone else.

    Eventually LJ will be on the block for a price so reasonable that Brad or someone like him who actually understands the sociology of it will buy it back. You notice that the loudmouths of the web world, like Yahoo or Microsoft, aren’t even looking this way, because LJ doesn’t have the glamor that attracts them. It’s the sort of thing Google might acquire (shudder) but they have their own social networking nightmare with Orkut (which has never been much of a success as far as I can tell, even though they automatically sign everyone up to it.)

    • songdogmi says:

      I think all of what you say is reasonable and is stuff I can agree with. In the early days of SixApart’s ownership of LJ, they were doing a lot of “product development,” but it was completely different things to complement their product line. There were enhancements to LJ, but there really isn’t much they can do to enhance it now as far as revenue goes. So, now that the product is very stable and has about everything one could want—there’s always more features to request, but they’re relatively minor—there’s not much for development people to do. I hope they didn’t lose the people who can solve problems quickly should they arise, but other than that… we users shouldn’t see any problems because it works pretty well.

      I’ve poked around at Orkut. Frankly I can’t tell what it is. 🙂 I love most of Google’s offerings, but that one puzzles me.

      • altivo says:

        I don’t know much about Orkut and they try not to tell you either, it seems. But by virtue of having any Google account (gmail, groups, igoogle, etc.) you seem to be automatically signed up. I’ve never created a profile there or done anything except look at it. But what I have noticed is that they start right out by suggesting “friends” for you. Examining those candidates, I find that they have interests that match subjects that recur in my email. So… yet another way Google is snooping in your email, apparently. Since I’ve never registered any interests at Orkut, how are they choosing these “potential friends”? That’s the only way I can imagine.

Leave a Reply

