Fun Is Not Being Had

I’m blogging from my car dealer’s service waiting area. How 21st century of me. I would like to blame my being here on a very emo car doing self-injury, as it is LiveJournal after all, but I have no one to blame for the destruction of my driver’s side mirror but myself. It’s not as if the driveway gate had not been there for the entire 12 1/2 years that I’ve either visited or owned this house. But I’ll tell ya, suddenly not having a driver’s side mirror has made driving awfully tricky. I’ve resorted to planning trips to avoid lane changes. It’s a level of logistical complexity I just did not need this week.

The Today Show, which is marinating our brains here in the waiting room, has twice shown the photo of Barack Obama on vacation, shirtless, in Hawaii. I have to say that I can’t imagine any other president in our history to appear shirtless—and looking very good, too. I know some readers may be looking for daguerreotypes of William Howard Taft, but … no, that’s just the wrong road to go down. Anyway, if you wanna see the president-elect in his swim trunks, just look anywhere on the ‘net today.

In one of the news breaks, there was video of a water main break in Bethesda, Maryland. It’s a 66-inch water main, or so they say—it actually looked like the Chesapeake River had broken through. There are cars trapped in it, and their occupants were rescued by a helicopter. Amazing.

Despite all the entertaining news bits today, this is not exactly the way I wanted to spend the next-to-last day before Giftmas. Just to make things even better, we’re predicted to get 3–6 inches of snow and then the snow slowly turns to rain, transitioning through several forms of frozen precipitation along the rain, over the next 36 hours. We still have a foot of snow on the ground and most roads are still snow-covered. This will not be pretty.

Edited to add: Not five minutes after I finished the post, the cashier came and said my car was ready. I was out of there at 9:40! I even had time to try to do some shopping, but that is a rant I’ll save for later. This even leaves me time to work, which is good (I guess) because I’m scheduled to work today. But I can work at home, so I’m not unhappy. It has started snowing, two hours early, so not driving to the office also makes me not unhappy.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fun Is Not Being Had

  1. stitchjock says:

    Sad to say, but considering the holiday season and its excesses — if I want to see Taft shirtless all I need to do is look in a mirror.

Leave a Reply

