The Solstice Song

Oh the devil may ride through the frozen corn
For the days grow short and the night so long
Come sit with me by the fire till morn
We’ll sing back the spring with a solstice song

   The solstice song, the solstice song
   For the days grow short and the night so long
   The solstice song, the solstice song
   We’ll sing back the spring with a solstice song

Though all the world in slumber deep
Lies frozen lost beneath the snow
This winter vigil we will keep
Though loud and cruel the winds do blow

   The solstice song, the solstice song
   For the days grow short and the night so long
   The solstice song, the solstice song
   We’ll sing back the spring with a solstice song

And when at last from his long sleep
The Green Man rises hale and strong
To bless the garden, dance and leap
And fill the forest with birdsong

Then I will rise from my warm bed
Still mindful of the winter long
And keep the vigil in my heart
And not forget the solstice song

   The solstice song, the solstice song
   For the days grow short and the night so long
   The solstice song, the solstice song
   We’ll sing back the spring with a solstice song

—Jim Perkins, Finvarra’s Wren (1998, self-released)

Finvarra’s Wren will be in concert tonight at the Ark in Ann Arbor, 8 p.m. ($15). For details, visit http://www.theark.org.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Solstice Song

  1. jjfmi says:

    Sorry I won’t be joining you – it sounds like a terrific show! Please say hi to the Perkins clan for me, and to everyone else attending who I know. (Y’all know who you are!) 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      It was a fine show. Among the several special guests was Owain Phyfe of the New World Renaissance Band. There was lots of sing-alongs and fine instrumental tunes and good will.

      Here’s hoping you have a great holiday in your undisclosed location! (well, undisclosed by me…)

Leave a Reply

