The Snow Report

I coined the word “Snowmageddon” yesterday in an e-mail, thinking I was oh-so-original. Then I saw a graphic on CBC’s The National that used “Snowmageddon” to describe their upcoming weather story, and I felt a little less special. I’m not sure why they panicked so much, though. A, it’s Canada, they get snow all the time, and B, this storm was predicted to only affect as far north as approximately Toronto, and maybe the southern tip of Nova Scotia eventually.

My current theory is, the media goes nuts over impending snow storms in the perhaps vain attempt to get people to understand that they should not drive like maniacs. Six to ten inches of snow is significant, but this is Detroit, not Las Vegas; it’s not that unprecedented. If we actually got hurricanes up here, the local media folks would all die of apoplexy a week before landfall.

There was about six inches of snow already when I got up this morning. I had to go to a doctor’s appointment (once I determined the doctor had made it to his office), so I had to go driving in it—I only got stuck once, turning into my street—but otherwise I’m working at home today. It just started snowing big puffy flakes, which often indicates the tail end of the snowfall. We have a strong breeze, though, so there’ll be snow in the air and good-sized snowdrifts the likes of which we haven’t seen in a couple of years.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Snow Report

  1. eselgeist says:

    i know. it’s just snow, why is everybody freaking da fuk out.
    my mom called to make sure “i was alright” and i’m like, it’s
    just snow mom, i’m fine.

    • songdogmi says:

      My mom called me yesterday afternoon at work to ask me to take the day off. It’s sweet, innit? Turns out I had been just discussing plans with my manager and a couple of co-workers and working at home was no problem anyway. But yeah, it’s the north, snow is no big deal. 🙂

      You probably didn’t take the new bike out today, though, huh?

Leave a Reply

