Where’s Wal… er Charlie? Out for some music, that’s where

Tonight I’ll be attending Stuff the Stocking, an annual fund- and stuff-raiser for the St. Aloysius Church’s Detroit warming center. The event will be at Trixie’s Coffee in Roseville. Bring canned good, dry goods, gloves and mittens and hats, or even cash. On the stage will be Tone & Niche, Steve D’Angelo, Mike Galbraith, Elise McCoy, and Greater Alexander—music starts at 9, but Trixie’s already has a spot set aside for donations. It’ll be a fun evening for a good cause. I’m sure the warming center will be getting a lot of use this winter and can use the help.

I should’ve mentioned this earlier in the week, because I know people look to me to help them set their weekend plans. So here’s what I’m doing next Saturday, the 20th:

Finvarra’s Wren will play their annual Solstice show at The Ark in Ann Arbor. The Wrens specialize in Celtic and other traditional music, and this show features seasonal music on fiddle, concertina, Uillean pipes, whistles, bodhráan, dulcimers, guitar, and of course vocals. They usually have a special guest, and this year’s is mighty special indeed, you might say ye olde crowde pleaser—Owain Phyfe of the New World Renaissance Band. If that sounds appealing, be at The Ark on Dec. 20, show starts at 8 (doors at 7:30), tickets are $15.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where’s Wal… er Charlie? Out for some music, that’s where

  1. mystic506 says:

    Next week

    I’m going (as of the moment.) Planning on going if not called to work. Chalres is planning on going too. See you there:-)

Leave a Reply

