Writer’s Block: Ten for the Tenth

I’m taking this as more “favorite” than “finest accomplishment ever,” though I believe there’s high quality in the list too. There’s eleven, because I can’t follow directions.

1. R.E.M., Lifes Rich Pageant
2. Supertramp, Breakfast in America
3. John Denver, Rocky Mountain High
4. Stan Rogers, Home in Halifax
5. Richard Shindell, Vuelta
6. Gordon Lightfoot, Sundown
7. Blue Rodeo, Five Days in July
8. Buckingham Nicks, Buckingham Nicks
9. Sarah McLachlan, Fumbling Towards Ecstasy
10. Simon & Garfunkel, Bookends
11. Mike Dorn, Way Gone

Almost made it:
– John Mellencamp, The Lonesome Jubilee
– Dire Straits, Brothers in Arms
– Dar Williams, Lucy Kaplansky, and Richard Shindell, Cry Cry Cry
– Moody Blues, To Our Children’s Children’s Children
– Dan Fogelberg, Souvenirs

Notes:
1. I could negotiate on a lot of this list, but if you disagree with me about this, you are dead to me. DEAD!
3. Yes, John Denver. Shut up.
8. If this was “Best Albums Ever,” I’d pick Rumours. But I have a lot of history with Buckingham Nicks.
11. No it’s not just a gratuitous local shout-out.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Writer’s Block: Ten for the Tenth

  1. Damn, I’m going to have to give this some thought.

    • songdogmi says:

      It ain’t easy to do this. I had four “for sure” titles and the rest could’ve been bumped. And if I was at home where my CDs are I could’ve probably had another half-dozen candidates.

  2. Good God, I love Cry Cry Cry. I didn’t even THINK of that for my list!

  3. rambear says:

    Bookends would definitely be on my list as well.

  4. This would be my current list, in no particular order, subject to change with the phases of the moon.

    1. Making Movies-Dire Straits
    2. Magic and Loss-Lou Reed
    3. Harvest Moon-Neil Young
    4. Play-Moby
    5. Fair & Square-John Prine
    6. Life’ll Kill Ya-Warren Zevon
    7. Monster-REM
    8. Trompe le Monde-The Pixies
    9. Peggy Suicide-Julian Cope
    10. The Bends-Radiohead

    Honorable mentions-I didn’t want to include “greatest hits” collections in the top ten:
    The Kink Kronikles-The Kinks
    History-America’s Greatest Hits
    Precious Friend-Pete Seeger and Arlo Guthrie
    Best of the Vanguard Years-The Weavers

  5. the_reach says:

    Buckingham Nicks

    OMG, I believe you are the only other person I know (other than my mates in college) who is familiar with the Buckingham Nicks recording! What a breath of fresh air! Just wish I could listen to it again! After I could no longer play my LP’s I purchased several cassettes and now those are worn out and gone. Did they reproduce on CD???

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: Buckingham Nicks

      We are the few but proud! The latest info I have is that Buckingham and Nicks have not agreed to release it, though they own it and not the record company (which was Polydor). Why not, that’s the mystery.

      I just found on Amazon this version which is appears to be from offshore somewhere and was also digitized from vinyl. It includes tracks from Buckingham’s latest CD, for whatever reason. Seems a little fishy to me. Amazon is not selling it direct, but linking to their network of third party sellers.

      Wikipedia has a bigger-than-expected article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buckingham_Nicks .

Leave a Reply

