Work related geekiness, with a music kicker

My employer has sent me to a seminar on book manufacturing in Ann Arbor that runs Thursday and Friday this week. It’s been good in a very geeky way for me; I’m learning things in the areas of publishing that I’ve always liked a lot (other than owning actual books, that is). We’re getting tours of the various areas of the manufacturing plant, plus company experts talking about things like pre-press (that the part where the materials are made ready for printing, which these days includes a lot of Adobe software), paper, and selecting from different production methods including print-on-demand and traditional web and sheet-fed presses. It’s making me think lots of positive thoughts about my career and what I want to do with it.

In fact, the only problem today was getting to Ann Arbor at 8:15 in the morning. I don’t usually get up for work until 8:30. What made it worse was that today was demolition derby day on I-94, apparently, which made me late. And tomorrow’s session actually starts even earlier, at 8. But it’s worth it. In addition to the general geekiness factor of it all, the people are really nice, including everyone at the plant and all the seminar attendees, who have come from New York, Chicago, and other distant places.

Wow factor: They have a digital press that’s about as big as my house! But it does everything, including putting on the cover.

And then… My original plan for Friday night has been to go see singer/songwriter Ellis Paul at The Ark in Ann Arbor, seeing as how I’ll be in the neighborhood and he’s that good. I just discovered that we’re supposed to be finished at 2 tomorrow instead of 4 as I assumed. That means I’ll have five and a half hours to kill. I’m going to take my camera; the fall colors are getting pretty now, and it’s supposed to be sunny. Plus there’s always Crazy Wisdom Bookstore and Tea Room to visit.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

