Recruiting a Guitarmy

The St. Louis Symphony Orchestra has issued a Call for 100 Guitarists—specifically 80 guitarists and 20 bassists to perform Glenn Branca’s Symphony #13, Hallucination City. With a title like that, one might think that guitarists in the tradition of Pink Floyd might be best suited, though I can’t claim to know anything about the music other than the title.

It’s part of a Guitar Festival taking place the second weekend of November. Other shows feature works of Zappa, Metheny, and Varese, as well as Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring, which the SLSO says “still beats with a rock and roll heart.”

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

