Weekend, finally … random notes

I’m going to see jjfmi play at the Live from the Living Room series in the atrium next to the Blue Note Cafe in downtown Pontiac, for those who wish to track my movements despite my lack of GPS transmitting equipment. I have played there before, as has John, and it’s a very nice venue with an appreciative audience. … The weekend weather is forecast to be so good it’ll hurt, so I’m hoping to spend some time outdoors—someplace nice, as in not in my backyard doing yardwork (although I might have to mow grass, but that won’t take too long). … A note for Rufus Wainwright fans: It was only a matter of time before our boy would compose an actual opera. The Guardian has a story titled From pop to opera: petrified Rufus Wainwright embraces ‘the dark religion’. The Dark Religion? Rufus has gone goth? Well, maybe not. Interesting idea: it’s an opera about opera singers. It’s so crazy it just might work, but then I don’t know much about opera so I shouldn’t be trusted. … If you can at all avoid it, don’t look at your up-to-the-minute accounting of your retirement accounts, because if you’re like me you may suddenly need an infusion of bourbon, and that’s even if you don’t drink liquor ordinarily. I myself did not resist, and learned that I’ll be eating store-label dog food instead of name-brand stuff when I’m 68, although I actually expected worse so I’m gratified it won’t all be the bags of dry stuff (at least not till the markets open again on Monday).

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend, finally … random notes

  1. It’s Meta!Opera!!!

    I hope it makes it over to this side of the pond. I’m not much of an opera fan usually, but gah. It’s by Rufus and it’s in French.

    I’ve always thought that French is a language made for singing. And Rufus–is Rufus. I adore him hundredsfold.

  2. ferndalealex says:

    On the other hand…

    A king asked a wise man for a statement that would always be true. In wartime and peace; During surplus years and famine time; In drought or flood.

    The wise man thought for many days, when he returned he said this to the king: “This, too, shall pass.”

    Unless one is heavily into financial or automotive stocks we’ll weather to better days. As a friend of mine says: It’s not a loss until you sell.

Leave a Reply

