So you can see who you’re dealing with….

October 3, 2008
October 3, 2008
Taken by James the Writer in downtown Ferndale, late at night.

I like fall because it gets colder and I can wear flannel shirts and leather vests. I know most people would tuck and button the flannel shirt, but I like to keep things loose. Or something. Anyway, I went out for coffee with James the Writer (georgelicious knows who I mean) at Java Hutt in Ferndale, and I made him take this photo.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to So you can see who you’re dealing with….

  1. Tell James the Write I said hello! Nice picture too Charlie!

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks! I will tell him hi for you.
      Don’t tell him I told you this, but he’s working on a new book, his first in a few years. Looks like he’s a couple of weeks from having it completed, but what he showed me looked good so far.

  2. vaneramos says:

    Umm, incredibly hot.

  3. jjfmi says:

    If this is the same James The Writer who shows up a AJ’s too late to read every week, I know him too. My compliments to the photographer – and the subject. 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      The photographer did OK considering what he had to work with.

      That’s right, I didn’t mean to leave you out of “I know James the Writer too!” 😉 Could just call him by his real name, I guess, but somehow it sounds cool in that 1930s movie sort of way.

  4. altivo says:

    LOL! Looks like an invitation to run cold hands up under that nice flannel…

    Ya know, you really should have some kind of big motorcycle. You look so much like a classic biker dude all the time. XD

    • songdogmi says:

      I might like the cold hands, up to a point.

      Motorcycles… yeah, I know. Years and years ago (1994, I think) I started the Motorcycle Safety Foundation basic riders course at Oakland Community College. It didn’t work out for me and I left it halfway through. The main issue, if I may self-diagnose, is that I’m a little prone to panic—watch me drop something like a salt shaker or a glass of water sometime. That’s a worrisome trait on a motorcycle. I figure if I’d started younger, or maybe had an instructor who recognized it, I could have worked that out. At my age, when you add that to the natural fact that I don’t bounce as well as I used to, I figure that’s a lost cause.

      Which is a shame, because my nephew works for a motorcycle instructor — “private practice,” not really with the MSF groups that run classes at community colleges. He’s not as restricted as to how much time he can give students. So that plus the family connection could’ve been worth exploting. But I’m still 46. *shrug*

      It’s unfortunate, because I do look good on a Harley, if I may say so myself.

      • altivo says:

        Back in the 70s, I used to ride. Not a Harley, mind you, but a Honda. I’ve occasionally thought about taking it up again, especially with fuel prices the way they’ve been, but when I moved to Illinois I didn’t carry my motorcycle authorization over onto the Illinois license. I’ve regretted that many times, but I’m not likely to go to the trouble of getting it back… yet.

        Rather than cold hands, how about cold paws? Or maybe even cold hooves? *ducks and gallops*

      • songdogmi says:

        Eek! I’d have to think hooves could get colder than paws or hands.

      • altivo says:

        Muddier too. ;D

      • hellmutt says:

        Although paws get surprisingly scratchy, when you’re ill and the pads are all splitty and rough.

      • songdogmi says:

        *gets bowl of chicken noodle soup ready for owner of scratchy paws*

Leave a Reply

