Jots and tittles

I have a problem… the average toilet paper roll is now routinely so large, it doesn’t fit in the toilet roll holder until I’ve used about a third of it. They make bigger holders, right? What a goofy thing to have to deal with. Only in America.

It looked very autumnal today, with dark clouds and blue sky and the beginnings of yellow in the trees. It’s October, so it’s to be expected. I want to wait till I get the furnace professionally cleaned and inspected before I turn it on (it’s 39 years old this year, which in furnace-years is supposed to be dead), and that needs to wait till payday next week. But it might be too chilly to wait that long. We’ll see. Maybe I should get used to chilly, since natural gas prices are said to be significantly higher this year.

Part of me wants to write about the financial crisis. But I don’t think I have anything to say about it with any sense of authority. Except for this: Markets don’t like uncertainty, and I don’t either. I think that people who say this is just like 1987 or 1991 or 1973 are underestimating, and maybe that’s good because if we really think it’s like 1929-1931 we’ll all panic.

In an attempt to uplift from the last ‘graph, I’ll tell you of an artist on LJ whom I casually follow, and he’s embarked on a series of bird paintings. Today’s was an oriole, there was a goldfinch yesterday, he had a bunch of different ones on Saturday, and he started off with a couple of crows. He also produces lots of other art and is an art teacher so he writes about that too.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jots and tittles

  1. You can actually get an extension for your holder. But I”m not sure where, I think in the same isle possibly as the tp.

  2. eselgeist says:

    I have to say, when I first started reading this entry, I was
    thinking about something completely different when you talked
    about not fitting in a toilet paper roll context, I think there’s
    a test for that…

    Anyway, birds 🙂 I was pointed back to your journal by someone
    you pointed to mine. Hallo 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      Hello back! Glad to actually meet you, well, in an LJ kind of way, I guess. I’ve been reading your journal through ‘s friends list. Yours is one of the most consistently interesting ones, especially as you’ve been writing about both art and teaching. Way cool.

      Now as for the toilet paper, I don’t mind a test, but I don’t want to have to take any pills afterward….

  3. eselgeist says:

    och! Axiom! he’s an angel, a real gem of a person.
    *nodnods* by all means, a friend of his is a friend
    of mine 🙂
    *hugs*

    • songdogmi says:

      *hugs* I’ve only lurked there … think I commented there once or twice along time ago. He does seem like an awfully good person, and a fantastic writer to boot.

Leave a Reply

