Back home again in, er, from Indiana

I’ve been on a clandestine operation in Clarksville, Indiana, from which I just returned tonight. Said operation was completed in a totally successful manner, and all is well. For the return trip, I gave up on Ohio completely and drove all the way through Indiana into Michigan. I just got tired of I-75 being under construction in Cincinnati, Dayton, Monroe, and Detroit, y’know? I mean, I know construction workers gotta eat too, but damn, bridges are torn out and lanes are restricted and the whole thing is closed in Detroit…. The alternate route wasn’t all rosy, though, since it was about 70 miles and one hour longer, and I had to get gas at the skeeviest gas station I’ve ever seen. (I will withhold its location in case I was really being overly jumpy.) The route was a nice change, though. I mean, I have all the signs on I-75 in Ohio memorized now. Yawn.

Actually, all is not exactly well. I was exposed to too much of the TV network CNBC. One can watch the American financial sector collapse in real time on CNBC. They show stock market indexes with updates every two seconds, so when they start dropping, you can start chewing your fignernails and making “Eep!” and “Ack!” ejaculations involuntarily. CNBC also shows spot oil prices, which may cause spontaneous headbanging, and I don’t mean the musical kind.

Between the financial markets collapsing, and the Bush administration’s heavy-handed and ill-thought-out attempts to fix it, not to mention the presidential campaign… well, as a good citizen I should’ve listened to more of NPR’s All Things Considered while driving home, but I was already looking for exposed bridge abutments to drive into, so I switched to CDs. Sometimes, being out of touch is a very helpful thing.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

