Palavering about the weather

We got around four inches of rain from Friday evening through Sunday here in Detroit. It’s a remarkable amount, though of course not quite as remarkable as other areas to the south and west over the weekend. The peak wind gust measured at the airport was 43 miles per hour, again only somewhat remarkable in comparison to other areas (this doesn’t count the tornado that hit in the western suburbs on Friday night). I find myself thinking that the media focused so much on what was going to happen to Galveston, that maybe we were surprised by what would happen once Hurricane Ike started heading north and east, as it inevitably would, or what was already happening up here.

The other thought I had was this, and I’m no meterologist nor do I play one on TV, but the weather pattern we just had could’ve been a huge blizzard if it had happened three months later. The southern Great Lakes area is susceptible to a type of storm where a front approaching from the west encounters a storm coming up from the Gulf Coast, and if the timing is right there’s two feet of snow whoomp! all at once. As it was, we had inches and inches of rain before the remnants of Hurricane Ike reached us and added inches more. If this was December, I think I’d still be digging out.

Fortunately it wasn’t cold—far from it, as for most of the weekend the temperature stayed in the upper 70s and lower 80s (F), which was kind of disconcerting to me, at least. If we get rain like that here, usually it’s a bit cooler. As it was, it was too warm to wear a jacket, even though I wanted to because of the rain. I spent a lot of time in damp t-shirts.

I guess we needed at least some of the rain. The grass is nice and green again. We probably didn’t need quite that much all at once, though.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Palavering about the weather

  1. Sounds like the storm dumped most of it’s water before it got to us. We got some strong winds. But I don’t think we saw the 50mph ones predicted. Not sustained anyway.

    I was a little west yesterday, and it seems like they got a good deal more rain than we did. But I don’t think they needed it much either.

    It’s odd how green things still are down in the valley here. A few more chilly nights like the last one and most of the bugs will gone.

    Hiking season begins!

    • songdogmi says:

      I was going to give a “shout-out” to “my Ontario peeps” to warn you, but it was a fast moving system and it was already over you. It might’ve been just leaving us and just hitting you at the same time, as big as it was.

      Hiking season! I’ve seen some of your pics, you go to some cool places.

      • Hiking season! I’ve seen some of your pics, you go to some cool places.

        Didn’t do that much this summer. Seemed like if I wasn’t working on a given weekend, something else was up. I really, really wanted to spend some time canoeing in Algonquin this year.

        We are pretty lucky though. There’s a ton of public access places to hike around here, including a good chunk of the Bruce Trail.

  2. hellmutt says:

    This is the most off-topically random question ever, but what (still/photographic) camera do you use? 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      Currently it’s a Canon PowerShot A620, which I’ve had for about two years now. I think the review is pretty accurate, though I have to admit that I sometimes have issues with it, which are probably due to operator error in some way.

      The film camera I used for years was a Ricoh XR-10 with a few lenses (not the one the one in the photo, but at least one like it). It’s not working at the moment, though.

Leave a Reply

