Bumper sticker watch

A bumper sticker seen at the local Meijer on Sunday:

GET REAL
Like Jesus would
ever own a gun or
vote Republican

I’d guess that the part about the gun would be true, not that I should speak for messiahs or anything. The voting part, well, we have secret ballots here, so I couldn’t say.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bumper sticker watch

  1. chipuni says:

    Sadly, I think that Jesus might have owned a gun. His disciples owned two swords:

    Then Jesus asked them, “When I sent you without purse, bag or sandals, did you lack anything?”
    “Nothing,” they answered.

    He said to them, “But now if you have a purse, take it, and also a bag; and if you don’t have a sword, sell your cloak and buy one. It is written: ‘And he was numbered with the transgressors'[b]; and I tell you that this must be fulfilled in me. Yes, what is written about me is reaching its fulfillment.”

    The disciples said, “See, Lord, here are two swords.”
    “That is enough,” he replied.

    — Luke 22:35-40 (NIV)

  2. altivo says:

    I think it’s pretty accurate, when you come right down to it. Jesus preached sharing, love, and responsibility for your neighbor, rather than condemnation, judgment, denial, and greed. As far as I can tell, the latter are the official policies of the Republican party these days. Wasn’t always true, but certainly has been so for much of my lifetime.

    I suspect Jesus wouldn’t vote for most Democrats either, if that makes anyone feel better.

Leave a Reply

