Follow tail lights down roads yet to come

YouTube wasn’t big enough, so … here’s a music video for my song “Follow Tail Lights,” which I started working on last weekend on location in beautiful Chesterfield Township, Michigan:

I could go on about how imperfect it is, because I’m just like that. But I’m actually pretty tickled that it came out pretty well.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Follow tail lights down roads yet to come

  1. That’s really nice! I recently moved back to the area where I grew up, so I can really identify with the subject.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks!
      I hope your old home place hasn’t changed too drastically. They tore down the house I lived in a couple of years ago, and rebuilt the two-lane road into five lanes.

      • It’s been built up some (the house I grew up in has been added onto somewhat), but the high school is still standing and looks the same, and the train still leaves from the same place.

  2. jjfmi says:

    Cool video!

    Now, if you had only left your case open by the side of the road as you were videotaping, you could have financed the NEXT video… πŸ™‚

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks!
      That’s a great idea about leaving the case open for tips. I actually did have a couple of guys in a pick-up truck pull up saying it wasn’t every day you saw someone shooting a music video in a parking lot. I could’ve made some money off them.

  3. hellmutt says:

    I’m always just a little bit surprised to see you open your mouth and hear that sweet voice come out instead of a beefier growl. πŸ™‚ Great song, and I liked seeing the shots of the places. Looks very American somehow – which is odd, ’cause you’d think roads are roads wherever you are, but. Maybe it’s the sunshine! πŸ˜‰

    • songdogmi says:

      My voice obviously needs more whiskey and cigarettes.

      I don’t know if the difference in latitude (Detroit is around 43 degrees, Manchester around 53, if my map was to be believed) causes the lighting to look different, or what. It was an incredibly nice, sunny weekend on Aug. 30-Sept.1 with not much humidity, so maybe that was it.

Leave a Reply

