On Barack Obama’s acceptance speech

I wasn’t going to watch. But I’d spent four hours napping and waking (due to my cold) to National Geographic Channel and they ran out of interesting programming. So I watched, first the video tribute to Senator Obama, then his speech itself.

The details of his speech are findable online if you want them. This isn’t trenchant political commentary. This is just a report from some guy who got his hopes raised by an incredibly fine speaker who said everything I thought was important. I have no disagreements with what he said. And at times, I was stirred in a way no political speaker has ever stirred me before.

Yeah, I know this sort of thing can be scripted (and is, to a large degree), that audiences can be manipulated, that we may not get what we paid for after all. But I don’t think there’s manipulation going on; I don’t think we’re being mislead by Obama’s ideas and ideals. We need what he’s proposing. We cannot keep doing what we’ve been doing for the last eight years. Obama—and us Americans in general—can do what should be done to raise ourselves up to what America claims it is. I would even go so far as to say we must.

I’ve been somewhat cynical, especially this year, but the part of me that still believes things could be better got awakened tonight.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Barack Obama’s acceptance speech

  1. zenicurean says:

    My reaction is still largely “Oh, good, he’s not Clinton.”

    • songdogmi says:

      Which Clinton? OK, he’s not either of them, so maybe the answer is “Yes.” 🙂 Seriously, I don’t recall Bill giving a speech like this, and I’m not sure Hillary could have sold it like Obama did.

Leave a Reply

